Delhi Metro Celebrates 19th Foundation Day

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation celebrated its 19th foundation day today with annual awards being presented to 48 deserving employees for their outstanding contribution to the Metro.

Dr. Sudhir Krishna, Chairman, DMRC and Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development presented the awards in the presence of Sh. Mangu Singh, Managing Director, DMRC.

In his address, Dr. Krishna congratulated DMRC on the occasion and said that the organization has set new benchmarks in both its construction and operation related activities.

DMRC’s Managing Director, Sh. Mangu Singh said that the Delhi Metro had registered an increase of almost 16 percent in ridership in 2012-13 in comparison to the last financial year. He also said that the overall earnings of the organization had also increased by 15.77 percent during the same period.

Sh. Singh also informed that many more steps were being taken for the greater convenience of the commuters such as the introduction of more eight coach trains.

The Vaishali Metro station was adjudged the ‘Best Metro Station’ and Sh. Anuranjan, Chief Driving Inspector, Line 2 received the Metro Person of the year award. The Metro Women of the Year award, which has been instituted this year, was given to Smt. Shaifali Chowdhary, Senior Station Controller, Inderlok.

Besides, 40 more employees from various departments were also awarded for their meritorious performance. Six more employees who have served the Delhi Metro since the beginning of operations in 2002 were also given special awards.

Sh. MP Singh, Additional Chief Development Specialist of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) was also given a special award in recognition of JICA’s decade long association and commitment with the Delhi Metro.

DMRC’s Foundation Day was also celebrated simultaneously at Shastri Park and Najafgarh depots where Director (Operations) Sh. Sharat Sharma and Director (Rolling Stock) Sh. H. S. Anand were the Chief Guests respectively.

AD/CPRO/DMRC      << Back